New Twist on an Old Scam
May 4th, 2010
Anyone who has owned a web site in the last 10 years or so has probably heard of the “Domain Registry of America“. They are the ones who send you solicitations that look a LOT like bills. They were even the subject of action by the FTC and the Canadian government.
Despite this, they have continued to send out their bill-like solicitations. If you get one of these DO NOT PAY IT! It is NOT a bill!
Today I got VERY strikingly similar solicitations from a new name in this scam: Web Listings, Inc.”. The twist this time, though is that rather than trying to get you to transfer your domain to them, this new company is trying to get you to give them $65.00 to list your web site with on 20 established search engines.
It isn’t that this company is a scam. The thing is that the whole INDUSTRY of search engine listing is a total crock! Don’t throw your money away on these. But don’t take my word for it. Here are a few references form other experts:
- Search Engine Submission Services Are a Scam
- “Internet Listing Service” Scam
- Website Listing Service Fraud Alert: Web Listings Inc.
- Website Listing Scam
- SEO Scams – Getting Fooled
- SEO Scams and Newbies Realm of Gullibility
- Listingcorp.com – Evil Scammers!
- Beware Fake Listing Service Bills
These are NOT bills. Don’t pay them!
